A Message from Pastor Brian

Dear Members and Friends of Faith Lutheran,

Mary, Brian, Jessi and I want to thank you for the wonderful welcome and warm reception the weekend of June 13. It was such a joy to meet all of you, and it is with great excitement and anticipation that I begin ministry with you August 1.

My first task is to get to know as many of you as possible, as fast as possible. Ministry always takes place in a context, and one of my primary tasks now is to come to a deeper understanding of the context of northern Virginia and Washington D.C. You will be my teachers as you share your dreams, values, traditions, and hopes, for yourself, for your family, for your community, for Faith Lutheran Church.

Early this fall I will work with your leaders to set up a series of small group gatherings where we can come together and you can tell me about yourself, why and how you got involved in Faith Lutheran, and what your dreams and hopes are for Faith.  In the meantime, let me know if you would like to get together to visit. We can meet at the church office, go to lunch or coffee, play golf or I would be glad to come to your home or place of work. At this point I plan on the following schedule. I will be in the office on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday mornings and Thursday afternoon. On the afternoons of Monday through Wednesday I will either be in the office or out making visits, including hospital, nursing home, and homebound. Thursday morning will be study time at the parsonage, writing sermons, preparing Bible studies, etc.

Friday will be my day off (Pastor Bill is going back to taking Mondays off.) Of course, there any many things, including Synod and Conference meetings, that can change this schedule, so please set up an appointment ahead of time. The phone number for the church office is 703-525-9283, the parsonage 703-243-9350 and my email is pastorbrian@flcva.org.

I look forward to seeing you in August and beginning our work of discipleship together, sharing the gracious and powerful message of Christ’s love for all people.
Pastor Brian

Leave a comment